Home / About EARIE 2013 / Call for Papers

Call for Papers

The Center for Advanced Studies in Management and Economics (CEFAGE-UE) and the University of Évora are very pleased to organize the 40th Annual Conference of the European Association for Research in Industrial Economics (EARIE) which is scheduled to take place between August 30th and September 1st, 2013 in Évora, Portugal.

The EARIE Conference

The annual EARIE conference provides a platform to present and discuss the latest research in the wider field of industrial economics. This popular event attracts more than 400 participants annually.

The conference will take place at the University of Évora.


Évora, a UNESCO World Heritage site, is a city of an outstanding beauty, embraced by its fortress walls, filled with historic memories in each street. Its squares and monuments tell us national history, religion and culture episodes and its townsfolk are proud of both past and present times. It is located in the south of the Tagus River, in the heart of the Alentejo region, at a distance of 130 km from Lisbon. Part of the town is enclosed by ancient walls and has been preserved in its original state, as well as its monuments dating from various historical periods.

Submission Details

All interested researchers are invited to submit their papers, starting from 1 February 2013 until 15 March 2013 by means of the online paper submission system available at


Submissions must be in PDF format, with a maximum file size of 2 MB. Absolutely no other file formats will be considered.

Submission deadline: 15 March 2013

Conference Programme

The program will consist of contributed sessions and invited sessions, selected by the 2013 EARIE Scientific Committee, chaired by Tommaso Valletti (Imperial College London and Università di Roma "Tor Vergata").

We are pleased to announce the invited keynote speakers for EARIE 2013:

Confirmed invited presenters include:

Heski Bar-Isaac (University of Toronto), Wouter Dessein (Columbia University), Christina Fong (Carnegie Mellon University), Gautam Gowrisankaran (University of Arizona), Niko Matouscheck (Northwestern University), Massimo Motta (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi University), Ignacio Palacios-Huerta (London School of Economics), Ginger Zhe Jin (University of Maryland), Fiona Scott Morton (Yale University), Curtis Taylor (Duke University), Frank Verboven (KU Leuven).

Young Economists’ Essay Awards

The purpose of the Young Economists' Essay Awards (YEEA) is to encourage young researchers to participate in the conference. The awards are given for exceptionally innovative and high-level papers written by researchers who (a) are under the age of 35 and (b) have completed their PhD less than 5 years ago. For papers with multiple authors each author should satisfy the criteria (a) and (b). NOTE: If you wish to be considered for this award at EARIE 2013, please tick the corresponding box on the submission form.

Contact Info

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at earie2013@uevora.pt

We would appreciate it if you could pass this Call for Papers on to other colleagues who might be interested in this event.

We look forward to seeing you this coming August in Évora!

With best regards,

Cesaltina Pires (chair)

Andreia Díonisio

Carlos Vieira

Duarte Brito

João Vareda

Luís Coelho

Pedro Pereira

Local Organizing Committee, EARIE 2013.


The slides of the presentations of the keynote speakers are now available. To see them, click on "Keynote sessions slides".

The slides of the presentations of the speakers of the invited session are now available. To see them, click on "Invited sessions slides".

EARIE 2013 Conference Photogallery is now available. To see it click here. If you want to see the slideshow click on the top left (it is fun, you should see). If you want to download a picture you have to be outside the slideshow. First click on the picture you want and then click on download.

We are pleased to announce the invited keynote speakers for EARIE 2013: Mathias Dewatripont (Université Libre de Bruxelles and National Bank of Belgium), Glenn Ellison (MIT) and Ali Hortaçsu (University of Chicago).

The EARIE 2013 Conference will include a few invited sessions in the programme. Confirmed invited sessions are: Evaluation of Research and Innovation: Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi University), Ignacio Palacios-Huerta (London School of Economics); Exclusivity: Massimo Motta (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Frank Verboven (KU Leuven); Health: Gautam Gowrisankaran (University of Arizona), Fiona Scott Morton (Yale University); Organizations: Wouter Dessein (Columbia University), Niko Matouscheck (Northwestern University); Privacy: Christina Fong (Carnegie Mellon University), Curtis Taylor (Duke University); and Reputation: Heski Bar-Isaac (University of Toronto), Ginger Zhe Jin (University of Maryland).